Critical Issues Home About Us News Site Map Demographics Jobs Newsletter Contact



African, Hispanic (Latino), and Asian Americans and the Housing market

Owning a home is the "American dream".  For Ethnic minorities, whose average annual household income is less than the national average, achieving enough wealth and income to buy their own home is even harder.  Federal law prohibits housing discrimination based on your race, color, national origin, religion, sex, family status, or disability.  This applies whether you are trying buy or rent housing, and covers a wide range of companies (i.e. banks, insurance companies, real estate brokerages) and individuals (i.e. landlords, loan officers, real estate agents).

If you are trying to rent housing, you cannot be discriminated against in the following ways:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing

  • Refuse to negotiate for housing

  • Make housing unavailable

  • Deny a dwelling

  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling

  • Provide different housing services or facilities

  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental

  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting) or

  • Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.

If you are trying to buy a housing, you cannot be discriminated against in the following ways:

  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan

  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans

  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees

  • Discriminate in appraising property

  • Refuse to purchase a loan or

  • Set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan
















Housing News
Click here for the latest Housing news

Tools & Information

File a housing discrimination claim with HUD
If you are trying to buy or rent an apartment or home and believe you have been discriminated against, you can file a claim with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  Click here for instructions on how to file a housing discrimination claim.
Fair Housing Act
Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, etc.
Frequently Asked Questions about the Fair Housing Act
FAQ's as provided by the U.S. Department of Justice
Community Reinvestment Act (CRA)
The CRA was enacted in 1977 to prevent redlining and to encourage banks and thrifts to help meet the credit needs of all segments of their communities, including low- and moderate-income neighborhoods
Find a bank's CRA rating
See how good a job your bank does in lending to the community
Housing organizations

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

Greenlining Institute

Center for Community Change

Home About Us Site Map News Jobs Newsletter Demographics Contact
Business Politics Civil Rights Media/Entertainment Workplace Consumer Housing Healthcare Education

Questions, comments, feedback?  Send email to:

Get Acrobat Reader   Copyright 2012 Diverse Strategies Inc.